Archivo de la etiqueta: lasa 2013

XXXI International Congress of the Latin American Studies Association (LASA 2013)

[Visto: 1213 veces]


A punto de abordar el avión que me llevará a Washington DC, comparto con ustedes el programa de bienvenida del LASA 2013 en el que participaré. Vean las mesas, las temáticas y si están interesados pueden revisar el programa completo y seguir las actualizaciones a través del facebook de LASA

XXXI International Congress of the Latin American Studies Association (LASA2013)
Welcoming Ceremony
7:00 pm; May 29, 2013; Gaston Hall, Georgetown University Campus

A. Welcome― LASA President Evelyne Huber
B. Welcome―LASA2013 Program Co-chairs Gwen Kirkpatrick and Kenneth Roberts
C. Introduction of Carol Lancaster, Georgetown Dean of School of Foreign Service by President Huber
D. Welcome by Carol Lancaster
E. Introduction of José Miguel Insulza, Secretary General of the OAS, by Evelyne Huber
F. Plenary presentation by José Miguel Insulza
G. Presentation of LASA Awards—Introduction by President Huber (President Huber will introduce each committee chair in turn. The committee chair will present the award to the recipient.)

o Premio Iberoamericano―“Revoluciones sin cambios revolucionarios” by Edelberto Torres (Accepting for Torres is his son Edelberto Torres Rivas)
Committee Chair―Elizabeth Jelin (Presenting for Jelin is Claudio Barrientos)

o Bryce Wood Book Award―“Beyond the Lettered City: Indigenous Literacies in the Andes” by Joanne Rappaport and Tom Cummins (Cummins will not be present; Joanne Rappaport will accept both awards.)
Committee Chair―Laurence Whitehead

Bryce Wood Book Award Honorable Mention― “Home Grown: Marijuana and the Origins of Mexico’s War on Drugs” by Isaac Campos-Costero (Accepting for the awardee is Elaine Maisner)
Committee Chair―Laurence Whitehead

o Media Award―Marcela Turati and Periodistas de a Pie (Accepting for the awardee is Margarita Torres, also of “a Pie”)
Committee Chair―William LeoGrande

o Charles A Hale Fellowship―Irving Reynoso Jaime
Committee Chair―Richard Warren (Presenting for Warren is Committee member Laura Gotkowitz)

o OXFAM-LASA Diskin Dissertation Award―Lindsey Mayka
Committee Chair― Aldo Panfichi Huaman

o OXFAM-LASA Diskin Dissertation Award― Erica Simmons
Committee Chair― Aldo Panfichi Huaman

o Luciano Tomassini Award―“Allende’s Chile and the Inter-American Cold War” by Tanya Harmer (Accepting for the awardee is Elaine Maisner)
Committee Chair―Leslie Elliot Armijo (Presenting for Armijo is Michael Shifter)

Luciano Tomassini Award Honorable Mention― Marc Eric Williams
Committee Chair― Leslie Elliot Armijo (Presenting for Armijo is Michael Shifter)

H. Acknowledgment of Awards that will be made at a later date―President Huber
o Kalman Silvert Award―Peter Smith
Committee Chair―Maria Hermínia Tavares de Almeida

o OXFAM-LASA Diskin Lectureship―Stefano Varese
Committee Chair―Aldo Panfichi Huaman

I. Presentation of LASA Awards of Merit in Film (President Huber will introduce Claudia Ferman who will present the awards)
Dismissal to Healy Lawn for the Welcoming Reception


[Leer más …]